Debugging Help Needed!

A
Andrew posted May 2 '16, 16:44:

Hi!

My first time trying to get this to work here, and I've got a little stuck... I've never used a Raspberry Pi before, but as far as I can figure out, I've followed the instructions!

I've formatted the microSD as FAT32 (using my mac), put the image on using the description shown on the Raspberry Pi website
I've loaded the samples onto three different USB sticks, from terrible quality, to something modern and quick.

I've got the PCM2704 based soundcard, but I've not bought the screen or buttons. I'm assuming that's ok, and I'm using an old Midiman Oxygen 8 as a MIDI keyboard...

Any ideas what could be going wrong? Sadly I've not got access to a screen this week, so it's not going to work to connect via HDMI at the moment...

K
Kees posted May 2 '16, 20:27:

Hey Andrew,

1) Which Pi do you use (Pi3 needs another image)
2) Do you power your Oxygen8 via USB? Mine works, but only when powered (via the mains adapter or a powered hub)
3) Do you have wired ethernet? If so, you can plugin your Pi, find the IP-adres (in your router) and ssh to the Pi.

Suc6,
KC

A
Andrew posted May 2 '16, 22:32:

Thanks for the reply!

It's the Pi2, and I've just tried out ssh. Really useful - I've checked the status and ls /media readouts from the terminal, and it all seems correct (I checked against a few other forum posts).

...just the, I decided to check out the keyboard a bit more... drum roll please - it appears the Oxygen8 mk1 isn't class compliant :( I'm assuming yours is the mk2?

A
Andrew posted May 2 '16, 23:11:

Ok, found I have a homebrew Teensy-based midi footpedal at home - works fine with my mac, with class compliance, but not producing sound on the Pi...

So, a few questions...
1) Is the default with the downloadable image to have the samples on this USB stick? If not, is there a specific location to put them on the microSD?