SamplerBox for eDrums?

D
Dom posted Oct 13 '16, 09:25:

Hi @ all!

First off, I'm a RasPI/Linus noob just trying to get startet with this amazing project (thanks to Joseph!!).
Currently I'm trying to get the setup to work (trying out the samplerbox2). But other than most people on here (as it seems) I want to use the SB for eDrums. Which is rather straight forward, but it makes me wonder how the HiHat Controller is supposed to work.
Any experiences?

My guess: Use Layering for different HH openings. And instead of mapping the sounds to Velocity, link them to the state of the HH pedal. Does this make sense?

All help is greatly appreciated!

A
AlexM posted Oct 15 '16, 03:34:

I've been thinking about SB for eDrums lately as an alternative to something like Roland's SPD-SX (since my drummer's one died recently). I plan to sink my teeth into this world some time too!

You could create a hhstate variable that determines which samples get played. A bit of pythoning is required. I did something similar to implement voices (sample sets within presets, all samples loaded at start) which I posted about a couple of weeks ago here. In the definition.txt you might use this new hhstate to determine which samples are used in which state. The ActuallyLoad() function then figures it out.

D
Dom posted Oct 17 '16, 11:29:

Yeah! That's pretty much what I was thinking. I read your forum thread... very interesting.
So far I'm still trying to get Sound out of the RasPi, but I hope I can give an update soon.

I, too , came to this Forum by trying to find a better way for drum sampling than SPD-SX or Yamaha M12... I'd totally LOVE to use the SB live. Also the possibility to expand it's functionalities is so thrilling. Love the Project!

D
Dom posted Oct 17 '16, 11:39: