trouble loading .img file from download

D
David Lujan posted Dec 21 '16, 16:55:

I'm a bit of a noob at this coding situation... do i need to have noobs or raspian running on the pi first? or do i clear the sd card and load the img in the samplerbox download? when i try to load the sd card with the samplerbox img (sudo dd bs=1m if=/Users/davidlujan/Downloads/samplerbox_20161114_2.img
of=/dev/disk1) i get this crazy stream of jargon and my terminal crashes. can it just be placed in the subdirectory while running noobs?

S
Sparky Lectric posted Dec 21 '16, 20:29:

The image file usually has to be unarchived to the sd card from whatever computer you downloaded the image file to. There is a windows utility and a mac utility.
Look on the Raspberry Pi downloads page where jessie and noobs are they will tell you how to install an image file on an sd card.

once the image is installed, you can insert the card into your pi and boot from it.

D
David Lujan posted Dec 22 '16, 05:04:

I got the img file to boot and it says that samplerbox should be running fine. it recognized the usb stick with my sample sets on it as well. i built a midi controller out of a thirteen key bass section on an electric organ using this instructable http://www.instructables.com/id/Build-MIDI-Bass-Pedals-for-About-150/ but i cant seem to get them to talk to each other. the bass pedals check out fine in the arduino interface on my computer but when i hook them up: nothing. i am wondering if the bass pedals could be set to an octave too low and thus not reading any of the keys in the sample set. I also am wondering if the note number assigned to the individual samples has to correspond to the note number that shows up in the arduino program when each button is pressed?

Sheesh i am so much better at fixing cars :(

S
Sparky Lectric posted Dec 22 '16, 14:21: