Beginner advice and/or consultancy?

P
Pete Jones posted Feb 14 '17, 21:57:

Hey guys, I’m a complete beginner to this, i have along (decades) history of music making with samplers etc but the coding thing with RPi is a totally new experience.

I love that this is open source and sharing the knowledge is awesome.

I wonder if we could come up with a ‘beginners’ page or doc for people like me? I’m of course happy to contribute, but i think it would open the gates for so many more people if we could?

Here is an example of my experience as a total beginner- and please do not mistake this for a complaint!! It's just to give you savvy people an idea of the entry point i started from!

• Discovered SamplerBox via a Sound on Sound forum - looking for ways to trigger loops with the Rhythm Stick (as midi instrument i invented many years ago that is coming out now for fun jammin sessions!)

• LOve the open source atitude

• Have a history of electronics design (mostly hardware not coding etc)

• Thouht fuk i can now integreate samples, into the Rhythm Stick (used to need external racks of expensive samplers back in the day).

• Am prepared to try to do this.

• Buy the RPi3 and kit for SamplerBox RPi3 version

• My laptop didn't recognise the SD card so i had to buy a external USB micro SD card reader to download the latest RPi3 image.

• Didn't know what an ‘image’ was before!

• Found and used some great advice and instructions across the various SamplerBox contributor websites - but i found it a bit disparate.

• Fiannly managed to get SamplerBox RPi3 image written on micro SD card (i’m impressed with my self that i’m even saying this!!!)

• Booted my RPi3 to receive a prompt for login ?????????

• Please bear in mind i had spent many hours reading the forums and documents - that are extremely helpful - but maybe more tilted to those who know like you.

• Discovered (at Hams’ forum?) that the logins are root/root :)
    Tried that and it worked!