Quiet sound, What Amp to use?

A
Austen posted Mar 15 '20, 22:53:

I have a pi 3B and I was planning on using the the 3.5mm audio and plugging it into a little drok 5w amp, but the audio level from the pi is so quiet that the drok amp barely makes a sound through the speakers (speaker and amp setup works great with a regular audio input from a phone etc..). The pi audio level is at its highest so that my -6b piano samples don't clip. I am hoping to put it all in a box with little speakers for personal playing. Currently I can only use it with my Roland amp. I am a noob with audio... any recommendations for what to do to get a louder signal to my drok 5w speaker amp?

A
Austen posted Mar 15 '20, 23:16:

Also I have read through Hans' [Controlling Volume]() and want to know if a cheap DAC would be the solution? Also if you're reading this Hans, where can I tip you a beer? Thanks

A
Austen posted Mar 15 '20, 23:25:

I am going to try the tips in #Crackly distortion when I play multiple notes?

A
Austen posted Mar 16 '20, 00:13:

So I have set my %gain=0.75 in the definition.txt for the "normalized GrandPiano" (my favorite for playing) and then I have the alsamixer set to 84 and I get the max volume out of the 3.5mm without popping and clipping.

I see I can add an alsamixer line in the config.txt but I am not sure how to format it. Any help their @HansEhv ?

A
Austen posted Mar 16 '20, 02:01:

This is still not enough output though to use the drok amp speaker setup. I would say the output of the pi is currently about 1/4 the loudness of a phones output at max. Sounds great on my roland amp though!

A
Austen posted Mar 16 '20, 02:22:

Would the PCM2704 USB DAC allow me to get a louder output for the drok amp?

H
HansEhv posted Mar 20 '20, 01:28:

Hi Austen,
Always in for a beer :-)
Next info only applies to the homspace (=my) version of samplerbox....
The alsa mixer config parameter is obsoleted or will be (don't know exactly what release you're using).