Nothing works, need help

A
Alex posted Mar 16 '20, 14:26:

Hi, I'm new to raspberry pi and other things, but I decided to build this project. I have a very old MIDI keyboard Quickshot midi composer. It only has MIDI and gameport, but no usb. I bought a raspberry pi 1 model b, put together a MIDI circuit, and connected the keyboard. No matter how many times I switch modes in the keyboard, its modes, nothing works. I tried to output audio to the headphone port, and to the monitor via hdmi. I double-checked the diagram several times. I tried different samples and different usb sticks. SamplerBox loads and I log in with my password and username, but nothing happens on the screen after that. Should there appear any data (when you click on the MIDI keyboard, or when you click the + / - sample buttons)? How can I find out what the problem is(keyboard / MIDI adapter/samplerbox)? Maybe I need to change something in the boot files to microSD?

A
Austen Frostad posted Mar 17 '20, 10:33:

1st If HDMI is plugged in, I believe it will put the audio out over HDMI by default.

Nothing displays on the console when using the device. Everything is running in the background.

I believe the SampleBox.py python script by default has the GPIO midi input setting set to true (meaning you can send midi into the GPIO pins and it will detect it.)
If not familiar with Linux commands... Go ahead and look up the basics for navigating around the Pi's file system. Everything is a file/folder in Linux.